de en

ASA@work

To celebrate its anniversary, the HFBK Hamburg has invited all its partners in the Art School Alliance (ASA) founded in 2010 to Hamburg to take part in joint workshops. As initiator of the ASA program, the HFBK, supported by the Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S., has for many years promoted the intensive exchange of ideas between domestic and international art students, engaging numerous high-caliber art schools worldwide. Over an intensive four-day project phase, groups consisting of a professor and three students from the partner universities work jointly with an HFBK professor and his or her class to create a joint presentation. The Finkenau 42 building is transformed into a vibrant place of joint discussion, experimentation, and research, granting the public fascinating insights into diverse international art production.

Kitchen Guerilla

They will be supported during the week of celebrations by the two guest professors Koral and Onur Elci (Kitchen Guerilla), who will ensure that the various cultural and culinary backgrounds of the ASA guests can be both seen and tasted. All international guests have been requested in advance to bring with them a typical ingredient from their own nation, which, in the spirit of a refreshing »culture clash«, is creatively fused to provide the basis for dishes. Beforehand, they will – jointly with students of the Studio for Experimental Design of Prof. Jesko Fezer, the Basics class of Prof. Julia Lohmann and guests of the Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem – transform the grounds of the Finkenau 42 building into a festival garden appropriate to the various requirements of the cooking performance, creating a place for coming together daily to cook and eat, and for artistic/social activities.

Participants:

  • School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Tufts University, Boston
    Professor: Megan McMillan, students: Serena August, Ariel Baez, Shannon VanGyzen
    In cooperation with Prof. Jeanne Faust and her students Verena Buttmann, Anne Linke u.a.
  • Universidad del Cine, Buenos Aires
    Professor: Mariano Llinás, students: Valeria Fernández, Mariángela Martinez Restrepo, Eva Quetglas
    In cooperation with Prof. Angela Schanelec, Luise Donschen, Helena Wittmann and their students Karla Bauer et al.
  • School of the Art Institute, Chicago
    Professor: Tim Parsons, students: Joey Asal, Dylan Matthew Fish, Elaine Rubenoff
    In cooperation with Prof. Friedrich von Borries, Prof. Julia Lohmann and their students Svenja Bredehöft, Nick Craven, Vivien-Lea Misch et al.
  • China Academy of Art, Hangzhou
    Professor: Jing Shijian, students: Zhen Zeng, Yihan Chen, Zhicheng Liu
    In cooperation with Prof. Anselm Reyle and his students Tizian Baldinger, Moritz Haas, Arne Mier et al.
  • Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem
    Professor: Liora Rosin, students: Iftach Gazit, Nitsan Shreiber Ravid, Rona Zinger
    In cooperation with Prof. Jesko Fezer and his students Felix Egle, Anna Petersen, Lisa Zander et al.
  • Department of Art, Goldsmiths, University of London
    Professor: Michael Archer, students: Emmanuel Awuni, Rosie Dowd-Smyth, Violeta Paez Armando
    In cooperation with Prof. Thomas Demand and his students Olivia Brunnabend, Samantha Gora, Johannes Menzel, Emma Wilson et al.
  • California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles
    Professor: Thomas Lawson, students: Ekta Aggarwal, Yair Agmon, Beth Fiodorek
    In cooperation with Prof. Matt Mullican and his students Clara-Maria Alisch, Laura Larraz, Elisa Schmitt, Kevin Westphal et al.
  • School of Art, Yale University, New Haven
    Professor: Sheila Levrant De Bretteville, students: Kenturah Davis, Ayham Ghraowi, Lucy Lindsey
    In cooperation with Prof. Heike Mutter and her students Anna Armann, Ivy May Müller, Szerafina Schiesser et al.
  • Bard College, New York
    Professor: Tom Keenan, students: Claire Debost, Nicola Koepnick, Alexis Parra
    In cooperation with Prof. Adam Broomberg, Prof. Oliver Chanarin and their students Florian Bräunlich, Shen Fan, Naama Salzberg et al.
  • School of Art + Design, Purchase College, New York
    Professor: Rob Swainston, students: Kelsey Brod, Nathalie Encarnacion, Kemar Hutchinson
    In cooperation with Prof. Jutta Koether and her students Jan Breuer, Lila-Zoé Krauß, Gesa Troch et al.
  • Department of Cultural Design, Kindai University, Osaka
    Professor: Tetsuya Goto, students: Ryouto Ikeda, Taichi Nishino, Natsuki Watanabe
  • Institute of Design, China Academy of Art, Shanghai
    Professor: Wu Xiaohua, students: Congcong Chen, Jiayu Li, Jichong Zhao
    In cooperation with Prof. Ingo Offermanns, Prof. Christoph Knoth, Prof. Konrad Renner and their students Natalie Andruszkiewicz, Leon Lechner, David Liebermann, Hanna Osen, Paul Rutrecht, Paul Voggenreiter et al.
  • École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris
    Professor: Götz Arndt, students: Gabriel Delatre, Tilhenn Klapper, Vincent Laval
    In cooperation with Prof. Pia Stadtbäumer and her students Thea Käszner, Isamu Marsden, Laura Sigrüner et al.
  • San Francisco Art Institute
    Professor: Maria Elena Gonzalez, students: Claire Bendiner, Luz Brown, Anastasia Rasshchupkina
    In cooperation with Prof. Michaela Melián and her students Bilge Aksac, Lorenz Goldstein, Jessica Herden, Doris Schödel et al.
  • Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
    Professor: Daniel Richter, students: Michele Schumacher, Matthias Franz, Elvin Brandhi

    In cooperation with Prof. Werner Büttner and his students Pascal Brinkmann, Timo Grimm, Lena Mai Merle et al.

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; photo: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Since 2010, the HFBK has organised the international exchange programme Art School Alliance. It enables HFBK students to spend a semester abroad at renowned partner universities and, vice versa, invites international art students to the HFBK. At the end of their stay in Hamburg, the students exhibit their work in the Open Studios in Karolinenstraße, which are now open again to the art-interested public.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Unlearning: Wartenau Assemblies

The art education professors Nora Sternfeld and Anja Steidinger initiated the format "Wartenau Assemblies". It oscillates between art, education, research and activism. Complementing this open space for action, there is now a dedicated website that accompanies the discourses, conversations and events.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; photo: Maximilian Schwarzmann

School of No Consequences

Everyone is talking about consequences: The consequences of climate change, the Corona pandemic or digitalization. Friedrich von Borries (professor of design theory), on the other hand, is dedicated to consequence-free design. In “School of No Consequences. Exercises for a New Life” at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, he links collection objects with a "self-learning room" set up especially for the exhibition in such a way that a new perspective on "sustainability" emerges and supposedly universally valid ideas of a "proper life" are questioned.

Annual Exhibition 2021 at the HFBK

Annual exhibition a bit different: From February 12- 14, 2021 students at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, together with their professors, had developed a variety of presentations on different communication channels. The formats ranged from streamed live performances to video programs, radio broadcasts, a telephone hotline, online conferences, and a web store for editions. In addition, isolated interventions could be discovered in the outdoor space of the HFBK and in the city.

Public Information Day 2021

How do I become an art student? How does the application process work? Can I also study to become a teacher at the HFBK? These and other questions about studying art were answered by professors, students and staff at the HFBK during the Public Information Day on February 13, 2021. In addition, there will be an appointment specifically for English-speaking prospective students on February 23 at 2 pm.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

On the evening of November 4, the HFBK celebrated the opening of the academic year 2020/21 as well as the awarding of the Hiscox Art Prize in a livestream - offline with enough distance and yet together online.

photo: Tim Albrecht

Art defies Corona: Graduate Show 2020

With a two-month delay, the Graduate Show took place this year on the 19 and 20 September. More than 140 students showed their artistic graduation projects, from painting to sound installation.

Exhibition Transparencies with works by Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Organized by Prof. Verena Issel and Fabian Hesse; photo: Screenshot

Teaching Art Online at the HFBK

How the university brings together its artistic interdisciplinary study structure with digital formats and their possibilities.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; photo: Tim Albrecht

HFBK Graduate Survey

Studying art - and what comes next? The clichéd images stand their ground: Those who have studied art either become taxi drivers, work in a bar or marry rich. But only very few people could really live from art – especially in times of global crises. The HFBK Hamburg wanted to know more about this and commissioned the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg to conduct a broad-based survey of its graduates from the last 15 years.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; photo: MKG Hamburg

How political is Social Design?

Social Design, as its own claim is often formulated, wants to address social grievances and ideally change them. Therefore, it sees itself as critical of society – and at the same time optimizes the existing. So what is the political dimension of Social Design – is it a motor for change or does it contribute to stabilizing and normalizing existing injustices?

de en

ASA@work

Anlässlich ihres Jubiläums hat die HFBK Hamburg alle Partner der 2010 gegründeten Art School Alliance (ASA) für gemeinsame Workshops nach Hamburg einladen. Als Initiatorin des ASA-Programms befördert die HFBK, unterstützt durch die Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S., seit vielen Jahren den intensiven Austausch an Ideen zwischen hiesigen und internationalen Kunststudierenden und konnte dafür zahlreiche hochkarätige Kunsthochschulen weltweit begeistern. Während einer intensiven viertägigen Projektphase erarbeiten jeweils ein/e Professor*in und drei Studierende der Partnerhochschulen gemeinsam mit jeweils einer/m Professor*in der HFBK und seiner/ihrer Klasse eine gemeinsame Präsentation. Das Gebäude in der Finkenau 42 verwandelt sich in einen Ort des gemeinsamen Diskutierens, Experimentierens und Forschens und ermöglicht der Öffentlichkeit Einblicke in die vielgestaltige internationale Kunstproduktion.

Kitchen Guerilla
Unterstützt werden die ASA-Kooperationen während der Festwoche durch die beiden Gastprofessoren Koral und Onur Elci (Kitchen Guerilla), die die verschiedenen kulturellen wie kulinarischen Referenzen der ASA-Gäste sichtbar und schmeckbar machen. Alle internationalen Gäste wurden vorab gebeten, eine typische Zutat aus ihrem jeweiligen Land mitzubringen, die im Sinne eines erfrischenden »Culture Clash« in den gemeinsamen Kochinteraktionen mit der Basis der Gerichte kreativ fusioniert werden.Bereits im Vorfeld haben sie – gemeinsam mit Studierenden des Studios für Experimentelles Design von Prof. Jesko Fezer, der Grundklasse von Prof. Julia Lohmann und Gästen der Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem – das Außengelände der Finkenau 42 in einen Festivalgarten verwandelt, der den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der Koch-Performances gerecht wird und einen Ort für die tägliche Zusammenkunft zum Kochen und Essen sowie für künstlerisch-soziale Aktionen schafft.

Teilnehmer*innen:

  • School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Tufts University, Boston
    Prof. Megan McMillan, Studierende: Serena August, Ariel Baez, Shannon VanGyzen
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Jeanne Faust, Studierende: Verena Buttmann, Anne Linke u.a.
  • Universidad del Cine, Buenos Aires Prof. Mariano Llinás, Studierende: Valeria Fernández, Mariángela Martinez Restrepo, Eva Quetglas
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Angela Schanelec, Luise Donschen, Helena Wittmann, Studierende: Karla Bauer et al.
  • School of the Art Institute, Chicago
    Prof. Tim Parsons, Studierende: Joey Asal, Dylan Matthew Fish, Elaine Rubenoff
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Friedrich von Borries, Prof. Julia Lohmann, Studierende: Svenja Bredehöft, Nick Craven, Vivien-Lea Misch et al.
  • China Academy of Art, Hangzhou
    Prof. Jing Shijian, Studierende: Zhen Zeng, Yihan Chen, Zhicheng Liu
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Anselm Reyle, Studierende: Tizian Baldinger, Moritz Haas, Arne Mier et al.
  • Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem Prof. Liora Rosin, Studierende: Iftach Gazit, Nitsan Shreiber Ravid, Rona Zinger
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Jesko Fezer, Studierende: Felix Egle, Anna Petersen, Lisa Zander et al.
  • Department of Art, Goldsmiths, University of London
    Prof. Michael Archer, Studierende: Emmanuel Awuni, Rosie Dowd-Smyth, Violeta Paez Armando
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Thomas Demand, Studierende: Olivia Brunnabend, Samantha Gora, Johannes Menzel, Emma Wilson et al.
  • California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles
    Prof. Thomas Lawson, Studierende: Ekta Aggarwal, Yair Agmon, Beth Fiodorek
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Matt Mullican, Studierende: Clara Alisch, Laura Larraz, Elisa Schmitt, Kevin Westphal et al.
  • School of Art, Yale University, New Haven
    Prof. Sheila Levrant De Bretteville, Studierende: Kenturah Davis, Ayham Ghraowi, Lucy Lindsey
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Heike Mutter, Studierende: Anna Armann, Ivy May Müller, Szerafina Schiesser et al.
  • Bard College, New York
    Prof. Tom Keenan, Studierende: Claire Debost, Nicola Koepnick, Alexis Parra
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Adam Broomberg, Prof. Oliver Chanarin, Studierende: Florian Bräunlich, Shen Fan, Naama Salzberg et al.
  • School of Art + Design, Purchase College, New York
    Prof. Rob Swainston, Studierende: Kelsey Brod, Nathalie Encarnacion, Kemar Hutchinson
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Jutta Koether, Studierende: Jan Breuer, Lila-Zoé Krauß, Gesa Troch et al.
  • Department of Cultural Design, Kindai University, Osaka
    Prof. Tetsuya Goto, Studierende: Ryouto Ikeda, Taichi Nishino, Natsuki Watanabe
  • Institute of Design, China Academy of Art, Shanghai
    Prof. Wu Xiaohua, Studierende: Congcong Chen, Jiayu Li, Jichong Zhao
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Ingo Offermanns, Prof. Christoph Knoth, Prof. Konrad Renner, Studierende: Natalie Andruszkiewicz, Leon Lechner, David Liebermann, Hanna Osen, Paul Rutrecht, Paul Voggenreiter et al.
  • École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris
    Prof. Götz Arndt, Studierende: Gabriel Delatre, Tilhenn Klapper, Vincent Laval
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Pia Stadtbäumer, Studierende: Thea Käszner, Isamu Marsden, Laura Sigrüner et al.
  • San Francisco Art Institute
    Prof. Maria Elena Gonzalez, Studierende: Claire Bendiner, Luz Brown, Anastasia Rasshchupkina
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Michaela Melián, Studierende: Bilge Aksac, Lorenz Goldstein, Jessica Herden, Doris Schödel et al.
  • Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
    Prof. Daniel Richter, Studierende: Michele Schumacher, Matthias Franz, Elvin Brandhi
    in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Werner Büttner, Studierende: Pascal Brinkmann, Timo Grimm, Lena Mai Merle et al.

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Semesterstart

Nach drei Semestern Hybrid-Lehre unter Pandemiebedingungen steht nun endlich wieder ein Präsenz-Semester bevor. Wir begrüßen alle neuen Studierenden und Lehrenden an der HFBK Hamburg und laden herzlich zur Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 ein, die in diesem Jahr von einem Gastvortrag von ruangrupa begleitet wird.

Grafik: Sam Kim, Bild im Hintergrund: Sofia Mascate, Foto: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graduate Show 2021: All Good Things Come to an End

Vom 24. bis 26. September präsentierten die mehr als 150 Bachelor- und Master-Absolvent*innen des Jahrgangs 2020/21 ihre Abschlussarbeiten im Rahmen der Graduate Show in der HFBK Hamburg. Wir bedanken uns bei allen Besucher*innen und Beteiligten.

Foto: Klaus Frahm

Summer Break

Die HFBK Hamburg befindet sich in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit, viele Studierende und Lehrende sind im Sommerurlaub, Kunstinstitutionen haben Sommerpause. Eine gute Gelegenheit zum vielfältigen Nach-Lesen und -Sehen:

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; Foto: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Seit 2010 organisiert die HFBK das internationale Austauschprogramm Art School Alliance. Es ermöglicht HFBK-Studierenden ein Auslandssemester an renommierten Partnerhochschulen und lädt vice versa internationale Kunststudierende an die HFBK ein. Zum Ende ihres Hamburg-Aufenthalts stellen die Studierenden in den Open Studios in der Karolinenstraße aus, die nun auch wieder für das kunstinteressierte Publikum geöffnet sind.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Vermitteln und Verlernen: Wartenau Versammlungen

Die Kunstpädagogik Professorinnen Nora Sternfeld und Anja Steidinger haben das Format „Wartenau Versammlungen“ initiiert. Es oszilliert zwischen Kunst, Bildung, Forschung und Aktivismus. Ergänzend zu diesem offenen Handlungsraum gibt es nun auch eine eigene Website, die die Diskurse, Gespräche und Veranstaltungen begleitet.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; Foto: Maximilian Schwarzmann

Schule der Folgenlosigkeit

Alle reden über Folgen: Die Folgen des Klimawandels, der Corona-Pandemie oder der Digitalisierung. Friedrich von Borries (Professor für Designtheorie) dagegen widmet sich der Folgenlosigkeit. In der "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg verknüpft er Sammlungsobjekte mit einem eigens für die Ausstellung eingerichteten „Selbstlernraum“ so, dass eine neue Perspektive auf „Nachhaltigkeit“ entsteht und vermeintlich allgemeingültige Vorstellungen eines „richtigen Lebens“ hinterfragt werden.

Jahresausstellung 2021 der HFBK Hamburg

Jahresausstellung einmal anders: Vom 12.-14. Februar 2021 hatten die Studierenden der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg dafür gemeinsam mit ihren Professor*innen eine Vielzahl von Präsentationsmöglichkeiten auf unterschiedlichen Kommunikationskanälen erschlossen. Die Formate reichten von gestreamten Live-Performances über Videoprogramme, Radiosendungen, eine Telefonhotline, Online-Konferenzen bis hin zu einem Webshop für Editionen. Darüber hinaus waren vereinzelte Interventionen im Außenraum der HFBK und in der Stadt zu entdecken.

Studieninformationstag 2021

Wie werde ich Kunststudent*in? Wie funktioniert das Bewerbungsverfahren? Kann ich an der HFBK auch auf Lehramt studieren? Diese und weitere Fragen rund um das Kunststudium beantworteten Professor*innen, Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen der HFBK im Rahmen des Studieninformationstages am 13. Februar 2021. Zusätzlich findet am 23. Februar um 14 Uhr ein Termin speziell für englischsprachige Studieninteressierte statt.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

Am Abend des 4. Novembers feierte die HFBK die Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 sowie die Verleihung des Hiscox-Kunstpreises im Livestream – offline mit genug Abstand und dennoch gemeinsam online.

Ausstellung Transparencies mit Arbeiten von Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Betreut von Prof. Verena Issel und Fabian Hesse; Foto: Screenshot

Digitale Lehre an der HFBK

Wie die Hochschule die Besonderheiten der künstlerischen Lehre mit den Möglichkeiten des Digitalen verbindet.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; Foto: Tim Albrecht

Absolvent*innenstudie der HFBK

Kunst studieren – und was kommt danach? Die Klischeebilder halten sich standhaft: Wer Kunst studiert hat, wird entweder Taxifahrer, arbeitet in einer Bar oder heiratet reich. Aber wirklich von der Kunst leben könnten nur die wenigsten – erst Recht in Zeiten globaler Krisen. Die HFBK Hamburg wollte es genauer wissen und hat bei der Fakultät der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Hamburg eine breit angelegte Befragung ihrer Absolventinnen und Absolventen der letzten 15 Jahre in Auftrag gegeben.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; Foto: MKG Hamburg

Wie politisch ist Social Design?

Social Design, so der oft formulierte eigene Anspruch, will gesellschaftliche Missstände thematisieren und im Idealfall verändern. Deshalb versteht es sich als gesellschaftskritisch – und optimiert gleichzeitig das Bestehende. Was also ist die politische Dimension von Social Design – ist es Motor zur Veränderung oder trägt es zur Stabilisierung und Normalisierung bestehender Ungerechtigkeiten bei?