de en

“Point of No Return” symposium series

The debate on the current direction of the Stiftung Buchkunst (see the petition of September 2018) has brought to light the unease currently felt by many designers, which goes far beyond the justified criticism of the Stiftung to touch on the issue of the relevance and mission of graphic design in a medialised society, the responsibility and need for critical self-awareness that this implies, and how this should be communicated among experts and the wider public.

Graphic design influences our hypermedialised day-to-day lives more than almost any other aesthetic discipline. Graphic design has a key position in communication as practised by diversified and transnationally active societies. It is the space where acts of interpretation and translation both within and between societies are developed and implemented. It is also the space where cultural codings are developed that are themselves actions in the fields that they code. The resultant responsibility is incompatible with the logic of standardised working processes. Criteria such as readability, attention, trends, originality, and signature style are an insufficient basis for a critical discourse on the discipline that is fit for present times. What is needed is a higher level of engagement and thought that is transdisciplinary and can exercise criticism (of cultures).

For this reason, the symposium series “Point of no Return” aims to bring together influential and critical voices from design and the sciences in order to intensify and carry forward this form of engagement, and in order to stimulate greater public consciousness of this discourse.

This symposium series is organised by the Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg, in collaboration with the Bauhaus Universität Weimar, and the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Buchkunst Leipzig. The first symposiumPoint of Departure (January 2019) will endeavour to define the challenges faced by critically-minded designers in medialised and intercultural societies.

The second symposiumBorn in the Echoes (May 2019) will focus on critical examination of graphic design through the lens of a number of disciplines of the (cultural) sciences.

The third symposium “Keep it Hit” (November 2019) will outline possibilities for those structures that will need to be activated or created in order to ensure a future for the discourse that we need in graphic design.

Finally, in March 2020, a book related to the symposium series will be presented in Leipzig in the context of the final symposium “Point of no Return”.

The contributions to the symposia will be published by the HFBK Hamburg’s Materialverlag publishing operation in early 2020. Additionally, talks are being conducted with the Korean magazine GRAPHIC to publish the texts in a special edition of the magazine in English and Korean.

Concept for the symposium: Ingo Offermanns, supported by Markus Weisbeck and Markus Dressen

January 2019

Panel themes: “Point of Departure” (Hamburg)

William Blake says that “opposition is true friendship.” Thus, criticism is more than a distanced comparison of a static state of how things should be with a dynamic state of how things are. To exercise criticism is to put things in context, to measure, to weigh things up, to interpret – criticism is a dynamic and reciprocal dialogue of that which is and that which should be. In order to develop constructive opposition, the first symposium will thus pose the question of what graphic design is capable of and what it achieves in the present day, with reference to Friedrich von Borries’s publication “Politics of Design, Design of Politics”.

  • Opening event: Ingo Offermanns, Markus Weisbeck, Markus Dressen
  • Panel 1: Graphic design profiled, reproduced, fetishised
    • Students of the Klasse Grafik, HFBK Hamburg
    • Anna Lena von Helldorff, graphic designer, designer, collaborator, Leipzig
    • Christoph Knoth & Konrad Renner, professors, HFBK Hamburg
  • Panel 2: Graphic design empowered, mobilised, colonialised
    • David Bennewith, Colophon, Amsterdam
    • Corinne Gisel & Nina Paim, common interest, Zurich
      • Karo Akpokiere, graphic designer, artist, Lagos/Hamburg
  • Panel 3: Graphic design criticised, opened, designed
    • Isabel Seiffert, Offshore Studio, Zurich
    • Sandra Doeller, graphic designer, Frankfurt am Main
    • Matthias Görlich, professor, Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle

May 2019

Panel themes: “Born in the Echoes” (Hamburg)

After the start of the symposium series "Point of No Return" in January, the follow-up symposium will take place at the HFBK Hamburg on May 31, 2019. Under the title "Born in the Echoes", Ingo Offermanns (Professor of Graphic Art at the HFBK Hamburg) invited international speakers to look at graphic design in dialogue with and from the perspective of philosophy, ethnology, sociology, design theory, and cultural studies. This broadens the graphic design discourse beyond the narrow boundaries of the graphic discipline.

The interdependence of visual communication and society makes graphic design a constituent element of the public sphere – a quantity that erodes to the extent that society decays into singularities. This requires a stronger, (culturally) critical and interdisciplinary commitment and reflection.

The second part of the symposium series is therefore devoted to the question of how dialogical and solidary participation in public communication can function, which is designed by graphic designers* but which is more than the lowest common denominator of strategic goals, particular interests and subjective sensitivities. The focus is on the common struggle for criteria for a critical discourse and the application of this critique to graphic artifacts itself.

With contributions by:

  • Christian Bauer – Assistent professor of Design History and Theory, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar, Saarbrücken)
  • Clémentine Deliss – Interim Professor for Curatorial Theory & Dramaturgical Practice, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung, Karlsruhe
  • Daniel Martin Feige – Professor of Philosophy and Aesthetics, Akademie der bildenden Künste Stuttgart
  • Eva Linhart – Curator of Book Art and Graphics, Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt)
  • Sophia Prinz – Assistent professor of Theory of Design, Universität der Künste Berlin
  • Markus Rautzenberg – Professor of Philosophy, Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen)
  • Alice Rawthorn – Design critic and author, London
  • Pierre Smolarski – Research Assistent of Design Rhetoric’s and Everyday Aesthetics, Bergische Universität Wuppertal
  • Friedrich von Borries – Professor of Design Theory, HFBK Hamburg

Moderation: Tulga Beyerle – Director, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg

November 2019

Panel themes “Keep it hit” (Weimar)

The third symposium will interrogate the existing institutions associated with criticism, and will look at possibilities in the institutionalising of graphic design criticism. What structures might be activated and/or created in order to create new momentum for a critical graphic design discourse?

  • Opening event: Markus Weisbeck, Ingo Offermanns, Markus Dressen
  • Panel 1: Decision time for graphic design
  • Panel 2: Graphic design criticism as an energiser of discourse
  • Panel 3: The boundaries of criticism

March 2020

Book presentation: “Point of No Return” (Leipzig)

The symposium reader “Point of no Return” will be presented in parallel to the Leipzig Book Fair. It will present for discussion the final results of the symposium series.

  • Opening of event: Markus Dressen, Ingo Offermanns, Markus Weisbeck
  • Final speech: Demands, hopes, prospects,
  • Discussion with Dressen, Offermanns, Weisbeck, and guests

de en

Symposiumsreihe „Point of No Return“

Die Debatte um die aktuelle Ausrichtung der Stiftung Buchkunst (siehe Petition vom September 2018) hat ein Unbehagen vieler Gestalter*innen zum Ausdruck gebracht, das weit über die berechtigte Kritik an der Stiftung hinausgeht. Vielmehr berührt es die Frage nach Relevanz und Aufgabe von Grafikdesign in einer medialisierten Gesellschaft, der daraus folgenden Verantwortung und kritischen Reflexion sowie deren Vermittlung innerhalb und außerhalb von Expert*innenkreisen.

Grafikdesign beeinflusst unseren hyper-medialisierten Alltag so stark wie kaum eine andere ästhetische Disziplin. Grafikdesign kommt eine Schlüsselposition in der Kommunikation diversifizierter und transnational agierender Gesellschaften zu. Hier werden Interpretationen und Übersetzungen innerhalb und zwischen Gesellschaften entwickelt und umgesetzt. Hier werden kulturelle Codierungen entwickelt, die ihrerseits Handlungen in den Feldern sind, die sie codieren. Daraus erwächst eine Verantwortung, die mit einer Logik standardisierter Arbeitsprozesse nicht zu erfassen ist. Kriterien wie Lesbarkeit, Aufmerksamkeit, Trend, Originalität und Signatur reichen als Grundlage für einen zeitgemäßen und kritischen Diskurs über die Disziplin nicht aus. Vielmehr ist ein verstärktes, (kultur-)kritisches und fächerübergreifendes Engagement und Nachdenken erfordert.

Die Symposiumsreihe „Point of no Return“ will darum impulsgebende und kritische Stimmen aus Gestaltung und Wissenschaft zusammenbringen, um dieses Engagement zuzuspitzen und voranzutreiben, und um ein größeres öffentliches Bewusstsein für diesen Diskurs zu stimulieren.

Die von der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg, in Kooperation mit der Bauhaus Universität Weimar, und der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Buchkunst Leipzig organisierte Symposiumsreihe versucht im ersten Symposium Point of Departure (Januar 2019) zu umreißen welchen Herausforderungen sich kritische Gestalter*innen in medialisierten wie interkulturellen Gesellschaften stellen müssen.

Das zweite Symposium Born in the Echoes (Mai 2019) richtet den Fokus auf eine kritische Befragung von Grafikdesign durch unterschiedliche (kultur-)wissenschaftliche Disziplinen.

Das dritte Symposium „Keep it Hit“ (November 2019) will Möglichkeiten skizzieren, welche Strukturen aktiviert und/oder geschaffen werden müssen, um dem eingeforderten Diskurs im Grafikdesign eine Zukunft zu geben.

Im März 2020 wird schließlich das Buch zur Symposiumsreihe in Leipzig im Rahmen des abschließenden Symposiums „Point of no Return“ vorgestellt.

Die Beiträge der Symposien werden im Frühjahr 2020 als Reader vom Materialverlag der HFBK Hamburg veröffentlicht. Außerdem werden Gespräche mit dem koreanischen Magazin GRAPHIC aufgenommen, um die Texte als Sonderausgabe des Magazins in englischer und koreanischer Sprache herauszugeben.

Konzeption der Symposien: Ingo Offermanns, mit Unterstützung von Markus Weisbeck und Markus Dreßen

Januar 2019

Panel-Themen „Point of Departure“ (Hamburg)

Widerspruch ist wahre Freundschaft, sagt William Blake. Kritik ist also mehr als der distanzierte Abgleich eines statischen Soll-Zustandes mit einem dynamischen Ist-Zustand. Kritik-Üben bedeutet zu kontextualisieren, maßzunehmen, abzuwägen und zu interpretieren – Kritik ist also ein dynamischer und sich gegenseitig bedingender Dialog von Ist und Soll. Um konstruktiven Widerspruch zu entwickeln, stellt das erste Symposium darum – Bezug nehmend auf Friedrich von Borries’ Publikation „Politics of Design, Design of Politics“ – zunächst die Frage nach dem was Grafikdesign gegenwärtig kann und tut.

  • Eröffnung: Ingo Offermanns, Markus Weisbeck, Markus Dreßen
  • Panel 1: Grafikdesign profiliert, reproduziert, fetischisiert
    • Studierende der Klasse Grafik der HFBK Hamburg
    • Anna Lena von Helldorff, Grafikdesignerin, Gestalterin, Kollaborateurin, Leipzig
    • Christoph Knoth & Konrad Renner, Professoren, HFBK Hamburg
  • Panel 2: Grafikdesign ermächtigt, mobilisiert, kolonialisiert
    • David Bennewith, Colophon, Amsterdam
    • Corinne Gisel & Nina Paim, common interest, Zürich
    • Karo Akpokiere, Grafikdesigner, Künstler, Lagos/Hamburg
  • Panel 3: Grafikdesign kritisiert, öffnet, entwirft
    • Isabel Seiffert, Offshore Studio, Zürich
    • Sandra Doeller, Grafikdesignerin, Frankfurt am Main
    • Matthias Görlich, Professor, Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle

Mai 2019

Panel-Themen „Born in the Echoes“ (Hamburg)

Nach dem Auftakt der Symposiumsreihe „Point of No Return“ im Januar findet am 31. Mai 2019 die Folgeveranstaltung in der HFBK Hamburg statt. Unter dem Titel „Born in the Echoes“ hat Ingo Offermanns (Professor für Grafik an der HFBK Hamburg) internationale Referent*innen eingeladen, die Grafikdesign im Dialog mit und aus der Perspektive von Philosophie, Ethnologie, Soziologie, Designtheorie und Kulturwissenschaften betrachten.

Das zweite Symposium widmet sich der Frage, wie dialogische und solidarische Teilhabe an öffentlicher Kommunikation funktionieren kann, die von Grafikdesigner*innen gestaltet wird. Und wie dieser Partizipation grafische Gestalt gegeben werden kann, die mehr ist als der kleinste gemeinsame Nenner von strategischen Zielen, Partikularinteressen und subjektiven Befindlichkeiten.

Grafikdesign kommt eine Schlüsselposition in der Kommunikation diversifizierter und transnational agierender Gesellschaften zu. Daraus erwächst eine Verantwortung, die mit einer Logik standardisierter Arbeitsprozesse nicht zu erfassen ist. Vielmehr ist ein verstärktes, (kultur-)kritisches und fächerübergreifendes Engagement und Nachdenken erforderlich. Die dreiteilige Symposiumsreihe „Point of no Return“ will impulsgebende und kritische Stimmen aus Gestaltung und Wissenschaft zusammenbringen, um dieses Engagement zuzuspitzen und voranzutreiben, und um ein größeres öffentliches Bewusstsein für diesen Diskurs zu stimulieren.

Mit Beiträgen von:

  • Christian Bauer (Vertretungsprofessor für Designgeschichte und Designtheorie, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar, Saarbrücken)
  • Clémentine Deliss (Vertretungsprofessorin für kuratorische Theorie und dramaturgische Praxis, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung, Karlsruhe)
  • Daniel Martin Feige (Professor für Philosophie und Ästhetik in der Fachgruppe Design, Akademie der bildenden Künste Stuttgart)
  • Eva Linhart (Kuratorin für Buchkunst und Grafik, Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt)
  • Sophia Prinz (Gastprofessorin für Theorie der Gestaltung, Universität der Künste Berlin)
  • Markus Rautzenberg (Professor für Philosophie, Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen)
  • Alice Rawthorn (Designkritikerin und Autorin, London)
  • Pierre Smolarski (Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter für Designrhetorik und Alltagsästhetik, Bergische Universität Wuppertal)
  • Friedrich von Borries ( Professor für Designtheorie, HFBK Hamburg)

Moderation: Tulga Beyerle (Direktorin des Museums für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg)

November 2019

Panel-Themen „Keep it hit“ (Weimar)

Das dritte Symposium hinterfragt bestehende Institutionen von Kritik, und stellt die Frage nach Möglichkeiten einer Institutionalisierung von Kritik im Grafikdesign. Welche Strukturen können aktiviert und/oder geschaffen werden, um Impulse für einen kritischen Grafikdesign-Diskurs zu setzen?

  • Eröffnung: Markus Weisbeck, Ingo Offermanns, Markus Dreßen
  • Panel 1: Grafikdesign steht zur Disposition
  • Panel 2: Grafikdesign-Kritik als Diskurs-Impuls
  • Panel 3: Grenzen der Kritik

März 2020

Buchpräsentation „Point of No Return“ (Leipzig)

Parallel zur Leipziger Buchmesse wird der Symposiums-Reader „Point of no Return“ vorgestellt. Hier werden die Ergebnisse der Symposiumsreihe abschließend zur Diskussion gestellt.

  • Eröffnung: Markus Dreßen, Ingo Offermanns, Markus Weisbeck
  • Plädoyer: Forderungen, Hoffnungen, Ausblicke
  • Diskussion mit Dreßen, Offermanns, Weisbeck, und Gästen