de en

Pia Stadtbäumer

Pia Stadtbäumer, Professor of Sculpture

As a student in the 1980s, Pia Stadtbäumer decided that her artwork should connect with something that is available to everyone - the human body - rather than with abstract shapes, objects or ideas. In a clear contrast with the foregoing neo-avant-gardes, postmodernism recognised the value of figurative sculpture. One only has to think of somewhat older artists such as Stefan Balkenhol, Katharina Fritsch, Juan Muñoz, Charles Ray and Thomas Schütte. This artist, however, is not interested in simply reconnecting with the classical / naturalistic tradition. Nor is she concerned with the neo-expressionist model so popular during her epoch. Her first figures, which are somewhat less than life-size, are calm and are entirely realistically shaped in terms of their physical properties. This impression, however, is disrupted - sometimes by the use of unfamiliar materials, but most especially by the way her figures are positioned in space. A female figure ‘lies’ headlong beneath - rather than upon - a console. Upright figures ‘stand’ on their heads in the corner. Sleeping children ‘rest’ on the ceiling of the space. Although these bodies appear familiar, they exist in a curiously indeterminate state between empathy and autonomy. Stadtbäumer combines pre-modern methods with modernistic methods.

Soon, however, the element of disruption is taken a step further - the physical qualities of the sculptures themselves are disrupted. She shows us fragments in the form of oversized, hanging arms, and fragile figures standing within the space are revealed in unspectacular fashion as hermaphrodites. Portrait-like heads are given ‘injuries’ that appear mechanical. In the 1990s, the artist’s interests expanded to include the symbolic, the fantastical and the baroque. All of this, however, is only a commonplace way of describing a far more complex artistic attitude. The addition of curious objects to child figures causes them to mutate into strange figures with little in common with a peaceful childhood world: it produces mysterious and threatening images of a lack of restraint, and of the concealed autonomy of these figures as people. The young ‘cowboy’ at the edge of the city, sitting on a horse loaded down with shopping bags, looks like an absurd monument to the actuality of a young person’s existence in a consumer society, riding through the brave new world. Later in her career, the figures and types from the present day are joined by a historical escapism, with chivalrous scenes and with a rococo-like love of sensual detail – this is due not so much to the borrowing of a style as to the attempt to pursue the attitude of self-love so typical of the age.

In Pia Stadtbäumer’s artworks, the human body and traditional sculpture techniques are coupled with a relish for invention, with a disregard for taboos. They come together to provide a complex set of instruments for addressing the human condition in our age. In the 1990s, an exhibition rather prematurely declared the dawn of the “Post Human” age. The artworks of Pia Stadtbäumer show that far more complex and less unambiguous images of the human being are possible – and yet these images still have a link with the body as a concrete thing.

Julian Heynen

(from: Die Bildhauer. Kunstakademie Düsseldorf 1945 bis heute. Exhibition catalogue Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf 2013, p. 262)

de en

Pia Stadtbäumer

Pia Stadtbäumer, Professorin für Bildhauerei

Pia Stadtbäumer fasste in den 1980er Jahren während ihres Studiums den Entschluss, die künstlerische Arbeit an etwas jedem Gegebenes, nämlich den menschlichen Körper zu binden und nicht etwa an abstrakte Formen, an Objekte oder Ideen. Die Postmoderne hatte die Möglichkeit figurativer Skulptur in deutlicher Abgrenzung zu den vorausgehenden Neoavantgarden erneut auf den Plan gestellt. Man denke nur an etwas ältere Künstler wie Stefan Balkenhol, Katharina Fritsch, Juan Muñoz, Charles Ray oder Thomas Schütte. Der Künstlerin ging es jedoch weder um einen einfachen Wiederanschluss an die klassisch-naturalistische Tradition noch um ein in der Zeit so beliebtes Modell wie den Neoexpressionismus. Die ersten, etwas unter lebensgroßen Figuren zeigen daher auch eine beruhigte, durchaus realistisch gestaltet Körperlichkeit, die allerdings durch teilweise ungewohnte Materialen, besonders aber durch die Positionen der Figuren im Raum irritiert wird. Eine Frauenfigur ‚liegt’ kopfüber unter und nicht auf einer Konsole, aufrechte Figuren ‚stehen’ in der Ecke auf dem Kopf, schlafende Kinder ‚ruhen’ an der Decke des Raumes. Auch wenn die Körper vertraut scheinen, sie halten sich in einer eigentümlichen Schwebe zwischen Einfühlung und Autonomie. Vor-moderne Methoden mischen sich mit modernistischen.

Schon bald gehen die Irritationen jedoch weiter und greifen in die Körperlichkeit selbst ein. Fragmente erscheinen in Form überlebensgroßer, hängender Arme, fragil im Raum stehende Figuren entpuppen sich unspektakulär als Hermaphroditen, portraitartige Köpfe erhalten mechanisch anmutende ‚Verletzungen’. In den 1990er Jahren weitet sich dann das Interesse zum Symbolischen, zum Phantastischen, zum Barocken. Das sind allerdings nur umgangssprachliche Vokabeln für eine weit komplexere künstlerische Haltung. Wenn Kinderfiguren durch Hinzufügung von merkwürdigen Gegenständen zu Wesen jenseits einer friedlichen Kinderwelt mutieren, ergeben sich rätselhaft-bedrohliche Bilder der Unbändigkeit und verborgenen Autonomie dieser Menschen. Der Cowboyjunge auf seinem mit Einkaufstüten beladenen Pferd am Rande der großen Stadt scheint als absurdes Monument einer realen Jugendexistenz in der Konsumgesellschaft durch die Schöne Neue Welt zu reiten. Und wenn sich später in galanten Szenen und rokokohafter Liebe zum sinnlichen Detail ein historischer Eskapismus mit Figuren und Typen der Gegenwart mischt, ist das weniger eine Stilanleihe, sondern der Versuch, einer zeittypischen Selbstverliebtheit nachzugehen.

Der menschliche Körper, die traditionellen Bildhauertechniken, gepaart mit einer Erfindungslust, die keine Tabus kennt, sind im Laufe von Pia Stadtbäumers Arbeit zu einem komplexen Instrumentarium geworden, um sich mit der conditio humana der Jetztzeit auseinanderzusetzen. Rief eine Ausstellung in den 1990er Jahren vorschnell ein Zeitalter des „Post Human“ aus, dann zeigt ihre Arbeit, dass weit verwickeltere, weniger eindeutige und dennoch mit dem konkreten Körper verbundene Menschenbilder möglich sind.

Julian Heynen

(Aus: Die Bildhauer. Kunstakademie Düsseldorf 1945 bis heute. Ausst.-Kat. Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf 2013, S. 262)