de en

Stage Design

Stage Design in the Bachelor study programme

The department »Stage Design« aims to lay the foundations for an independent artistic position and to provide guidance for reflection on theoretical and practical questions about creating theatrical spaces in the present day and in the past. In addition to this, it follows the HFBK's interdisciplinary approach to study by addressing related disciplines and consequently locating the students' own artistic efforts specifically within this extended context of art and image production, including the old and new technical media (photography, film, video, computer).

The crafting of theatrical space develops from the external architectonic and functional conditions involved as well as from the demands of the play and the way it is being directed. The central concern of this subject is to develop a coherent scenic space in line with both the historical and one’s own interpretations of the text, to address dramaturgy and direction, and to translate it into practice. This study area is centred on planning stage and installation spaces for scenic work (theatre, musical theatre, film and television.) The starting point is the artistic intentions of the individual student, which will be supported by tutors from the planning stage through to the actual execution by means of individual and group tutorials. The different stages of project realisation extend from developing a concept to drafting and creating a model, and beyond that to an actual staged production, including both experimental use of space and performance. The necessary technical and craft skills, including drafting stage designs, building models, photography CAD (Computer Aided Design), digital image manipulation and video editing can be gained and tried out in the various workshops (for wood, metal, ceramics and printing) and studios (light, sound and video). Other required skills are: a critical understanding of the various approaches to form and content in the fields of directing, dramaturgy, costuming, lighting, sound and use of video.

The accompanying academic training gives additional depth to the artistic questions and experiences, and offers historical and theoretical knowledge and practical methods that help to advance students' artistic understanding of themselves and of history.

Stage Design in the Master study programme

The department »Stage Design« gives students the opportunity to extend their skills in independently formulating artistic questions and expand their critical thinking on theoretical and practical questions relating to researching and developing scenic spaces.

The knowledge and skills gained in the Bachelor study programme in applying artistic methods and strategies will be tested in scenery projects within or incorporating public spaces. These projects will be realized in cooperation with various institutions (currently the Theaterakademie Hamburg, the Theater Kiel and the Ruhrfestspiele).

The central focus of studies in this subject is the design of stage spaces and spatial installations for scenery purposes (in theatre, musical theatre, film and television). The starting point is the individual student’s own artistic intentions, supported from idea to implementation by tutors in individual and group tutorials. The phases of realization are diverse – concept, draft, model and stageable production. Both experimental spatial work and performances are included.

An analytical understanding of the various contentual and formal aspects of direction, dramaturgy, costuming, light, sound and video is required. Workshops (wood, metal, ceramics, printing) and studios (light, sound, video) will provide opportunities for students to further develop and try out their existing manual and technical skills, including technical drawing for the stage, model building, model photography, CAD, digital picture manipulation and video editing.

In line with the HFBK’s interdisciplinary study policy, students of this subject will also learn about related disciplines and finding a place for their own artistic ambitions in the wider contexts of art and image production, which includes both older and newer technical media (photography, film, video and computer).

de en

Bühnenraum

Bühnenraum im Bachelor-Studium

Ziel des Studienschwerpunktes »Bühnenraum« ist die Grundlegung einer eigenständigen künstlerischen Position sowie die Anleitung zu historisch-kritischer Reflexion theoretischer und praktischer Fragen der Gestaltung theatraler Räume in Gegenwart und Geschichte. Darüber hinaus geht es gemäß dem interdisziplinär verfassten Studium an der HFBK um die Auseinandersetzung mit den Nachbardisziplinen und folglich um die spezifische Verortung der eigenen künstlerischen Bestrebungen in diesem erweiterten Rahmen der Kunst- und Bildproduktion einschließlich der alten und neuen technischen Medien (Fotografie, Film, Video, Computer).

Die Gestaltung des theatralen Bühnenraums erwächst aus den äußeren architektonischen und funktionalen Gegebenheiten sowie aus den Anforderungen von Stück und Regie. Aus dem historischen und eigenen Textverständnis heraus und in Auseinandersetzung mit Dramaturgie und Regie die Idee einer szenischen Raumeinheit zu entwickeln und praktisch umzusetzen, ist das zentrale Anliegen der Ausbildung. Das Studium ist ausgerichtet auf den Entwurf von Bühnenräumen und Rauminstallationen für die szenische Arbeit (Theater, Musiktheater, Film und Fernsehen). Ausgangspunkt ist das künstlerische Vorhaben der/des Studierenden, das von der Idee bis zur Umsetzung von Lehrenden in Einzel- und Gruppenkorrekturen begleitet wird. Die Stufen der Realisierung führen vom Konzept zum Entwurf und Modell und weiter bis zur bühnenreifen Produktion und schließen experimentelle Raumarbeiten ebenso ein wie Performances. Die notwendigen handwerklichen und technischen Fertigkeiten, darunter bühnentechnisches Zeichnen, Modellbau und -fotografie sowie CAD, digitale Bildbearbeitung und Videoschnitt, können in den Werkstätten (Holz, Metall, Keramik, Druck) und Studios (Licht, Ton, Video) ausgebildet und erprobt werden; darüber hinaus ist analytisches Verständnis der unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen und formalen Ansätze in den Bereichen Regie, Dramaturgie, Kostüm, Licht, Ton und Video gefragt.

Die begleitende wissenschaftliche Ausbildung vertieft die künstlerischen Fragestellungen und Erfahrungen und stellt historisches und theoretisches Wissen sowie methodische Handhaben bereit, die dazu beitragen, das künstlerische Selbst- und Geschichtsverständnis zu vertiefen.

Bühnenraum im Master-Studium

Im Studienschwerpunkt »Bühnenraum« erhalten die Studierenden die Gelegenheit, ihre Fähigkeiten zur eigenständigen Formulierung künstlerischer Fragestellungen zu vertiefen sowie ihr kritisches Reflexionsvermögen zu theoretischen und praktischen Fragen der Entwicklung und Erforschung von szenischen Räumen zu erweitern.

Die im grundlegenden Bachelor-Studiengang erworbenen Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen in der Anwendung  künstlerischer Methoden und Strategien werden in szenischen Projekten mit/in öffentlichen Räumen überprüft. Diese Projekte werden in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Institutionen (aktuell Theaterakademie Hamburg, Theater Kiel, Ruhrfestspiele) realisiert.

Das Studium ist ausgerichtet auf den Entwurf von Bühnenräumen und Rauminstallationen für die szenische Arbeit (Theater, Musiktheater, Film und Fernsehen). Ausgangspunkt ist das künstlerische Vorhaben der/des Studierenden, das von der Idee bis zur Umsetzung von Lehrenden in Einzel- und Gruppenkorrekturen begleitet wird. Die Stufen der Realisierung führen vom Konzept zum Entwurf und Modell und weiter bis zur bühnenreifen Produktion und schließen experimentelle Raumarbeiten ebenso ein wie Performances.

Das analytische Verständnis der unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen und formalen Ansätze in den Bereichen Regie, Dramaturgie, Kostüm, Licht, Ton und Video wird gefördert; die erworbenen handwerklichen und technischen Fertigkeiten, darunter bühnentechnisches Zeichnen, Modellbau und -fotografie sowie CAD, digitale Bildbearbeitung und Videoschnitt, können in den Werkstätten (Holz, Metall, Keramik, Druck) und Studios (Licht, Ton, Video) weiter entwickelt und erprobt werden

Darüber hinaus geht es gemäß dem interdisziplinär verfassten Studium an der HFBK um die Auseinandersetzung mit den Nachbardisziplinen und folglich um die spezifische Verortung der eigenen künstlerischen Bestrebungen in diesem erweiterten Rahmen der Kunst- und Bildproduktion einschließlich der alten und neuen technischen Medien (Fotografie, Film, Video, Computer)