de en

Female Identities in the Post-Utopian.

Perspectives on Post-Socialism from Art and Theory

Public Seminar with, among others, Anabela Angelovska, Anna Bitkina, Ana Bogdanović, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Suza Husse, Katja Kobolt, Elena Korowin, Petra Lange-Berndt, Monika Rüthers, Jana Seehusen, and Bettina Steinbrügge
January 19 - January 20, 2017

While an artistic preoccupation with questions of identity, gender and recollection of a socialist past from women’s perspectives was not widespread in the early 2000s, today many artists from the former ‘East’ are taking on the subject with a retrospective approach towards the future. That is to say, they undertake retro-utopian excursions into the past in order to discover its hidden and unresolved potential for a new understanding of female subjectivity and gender. In a post-utopian epoch, in which communism no longer appears to offer any promise, nor act as a utopia or vision, it instead appears as an event of the past: a discarded political project. Artists are now focusing anew on the socialist period and that phase of societal shift after 1989/1991 in order to produce a critical distance from the present and imagine a new future. Against this backdrop, many contemporary films and video works by women artists provide insight into gender-specific experiences and challenges to women in the post-socialist present-day.

The Public Seminar investigates perspectives on the post-socialist transformation as well as on theoretical positions and discourses from art history, art theory, visual culture studies and historical studies. On the basis of visual readings, the following questions occur: What do female artists think about the socialist past and subsequent processes of transformation from a contemporary perspective? How do they position themselves in relation to feminist positions and discourses surrounding ‘post-identity’? What are distinctive features of the past that extend into the future? What can we identify as the retro-utopian potential that defines female identity and gender through some exemplary cultural works?

Concept: Lene Markusen (Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg) and Ulrike Gerhardt (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg)
Assistance: Sophie Krambrich
Graphic design: Julian Mader
Programme

An event hosted by the Time-based Media department at the University of Fine Arts Hamburg in collaboration with Kunstraum of Leuphana University of Lueneburg and District Berlin

de en

Female Identities in the Post-Utopian.

Perspektiven auf den Postsozialismus aus Kunst und Wissenschaft

Public Seminar mit Anabela Angelovska, Anna Bitkina, Ana Bogdanović, Anetta Mona Chişa & Lucia Tkáčová, Suza Husse, Katja Kobolt, Elena Korowin, Petra Lange-Berndt, Monika Rüthers, Jana Seehusen, Bettina Steinbrügge u.a.
19.—20. Januar 2017

Während eine künstlerische Beschäftigung mit Fragen zu Identität, Gender und Erinnerung an die sozialistische Vergangenheit in den 2000ern noch wenig verbreitet war, schauen gegenwärtig viele Künstlerinnen aus dem ehemaligen »Osten« retrospektiv in die Zukunft — das heißt, sie unternehmen retro-utopische Exkursionen in die Vergangenheit, um dort uneingelöste und verborgene Potentiale für ein neues Verständnis von weiblicher Subjektivität und Gender zu entdecken. In einer post-utopischen Zeit, in der der Kommunismus nicht länger als ein Versprechen, als Utopie oder Vision angesehen wird, sondern als ein Ereignis aus der Vergangenheit und ein ausrangiertes politisches Projekt, lässt sich beobachten, dass seitens der Künstlerinnen und Künstler eine neuerliche Konzentration auf die sozialistische Zeit und die Transformationsphase nach 1989/1991 stattfindet, die dazu dient, eine kritische Distanz zur Gegenwart zu etablieren und eine andere Zukunft zu imaginieren. Vor diesem Hintergrund geben viele zeitgenössische Filme und Videoarbeiten Aufschluss über genderspezifische Erfahrungen und Herausforderungen von Frauen in einer postsozialistischen Gegenwart.

Das Public Seminar erforscht Perspektiven auf die postsozialistische Transformation sowie damit in Verbindung stehende künstlerische als auch theoretische Positionen und Diskurse aus Kunstgeschichte, Kunsttheorie, Kunst- und Geschichtswissenschaft. Anhand visueller Lektüren treten folgende Fragen auf: Wie denken Künstlerinnen aus heutiger Sicht über die sozialistische Vergangenheit und die Transformation? Wie positionieren sie sich gegenüber feministischen und postidentitären Diskursen? Was sind die Besonderheiten, die diese in die Gegenwart hineinragende Vergangenheit mit sich bringt? Welche retro-utopischen Potentiale lassen sich in Bezug auf weibliche Identität und Gender ausmachen?

Konzept: Lene Markusen (Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg) und Ulrike Gerhardt (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg)
Assistenz: Sophie Krambrich
Grafikdesign: Julian Mader
Programmflyer

Eine Veranstaltung des Studienschwerpunkts Zeitbezogene Medien in Kooperation mit dem Kunstraum der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg und District Berlin