de en

Pepe Danquart

Pepe Danquart, Professor of documentary film

Pepe Danquart is best known as a maker of documentary films. He has been a professor at the HFBK Hamburg in the department of Film since 2008. While studying Communication Science in Freiburg (between 1975 and 1981), Danquart founded the Medienwerkstatt Freiburg (MWF). Between 1978 and 1991, this filmmaking collective produced more than 30 documentary films in which Pepe Danquart was involved as writer, director and producer. These films won a number of awards.

Danquart came to international notice with Schwarzfahrer (1994), which won him an Oscar for Best Short Film, and with another multi-awardwinning film, Nach Saison (1995–97), whose accolades included the Friedensfilmpreis or Peace Film Prize at the Berlinale, the Grand Prize of the San Francisco Film Festival and the Pare Lorenzt Award, Los Angeles.
He gained further recognition in recent years with a trilogy of sport documentary films – Heimspiel (1999), Höllentour (2004) and Am Limit (2007) – which rewrote the rulebook on filming sport. All three films were successful at the box office and received a number of awards (including the Deutscher Filmpreis for Best Direction).

Pepe Danquart is a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Science, L. A. and the Europäische Filmakademie, and a founding member of the Deutsche Filmakademie. He is also a jury member for the Filmförderung des Bundes (BKM) and the Gerd Ruge Stiftung für Dokumentarfilm.

Consultations on Projects on appointment by Olga Kondyli-Roussou: dokumentarfilm@hfbk-hamburg.de

de en

Pepe Danquart

Pepe Danquart, Professor für Dokumentarfilm

Der als Dokumentarfilmer bekannt gewordene Pepe Danquart ist seit 2008 Professor an der HFBK Hamburg im Studienschwerpunkt Film. Während seines Studiums der Kommunikationswissenschaft in Freiburg von 1975 bis 1981 begründete Danquart die Medienwerkstatt Freiburg (MWF) mit. In diesem Filmkollektiv entstanden zwischen 1978 bis 1991 mehr als 30 Dokumentarfilme, an denen er als Autor, Regisseur und Produzent beteiligt war und die zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bekamen.

Internationale Anerkennung erlangte Danquart mit Schwarzfahrer (1994), für den er den Oscar in der Kategorie Bester Kurzfilm erhielt, und mit dem ebenfalls hoch prämierten Film Nach Saison (1995–97), wofür ihm u. a. der Friedensfilmpreis der Berlinale, der Grand Prize des San Francisco Filmfestivals und der Pare Lorenzt Award, Los Angeles verliehen wurden.

Mit einer Trilogie von Sport-Dokumentarfilmen – Heimspiel (1999), Höllentour (2004) und Am Limit (2007) –, die neue Maßstäbe in der Sportfotografie setzten, sorgte er in den letzten Jahren für Aufsehen: Alle drei Filme liefen erfolgreich im Kino und wurden mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen bedacht (u. a. Deutscher Filmpreis für die Beste Regie).

Pepe Danquart ist Mitglied der Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Science, L. A., der Europäischen Filmakademie sowie Gründungsmitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie. Zudem gehört er der Jury der Filmförderung des Bundes (BKM) und der Gerd Ruge Stiftung für Dokumentarfilm an.

Sprechstunden und Projektbesprechung nach Voranmeldung bei Nora Moschüring: nora.moschuering@hfbk-hamburg.de