de en

Dr. Michael Diers

Dr. Michael Diers, Professor of History of Art (retired)

Consultation Hours on appointment only

Michael Diers has been professor of art history and history of the image at the HFBK Hamburg from 2004 to 2017. He studied art history, German studies and philosophy in Münster and Hamburg, where he gained his doctorate in 1990 with a paper on the art and culture historian Aby Warburg (Warburg aus Briefen). From 1990 to 1992, he was a research associate in the “Politische Ikonographie” study project (directed by Martin Warnke) at the Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut in Essen, and from 1992 to 1994, he was a research associate in the Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar of the Universität Hamburg. In 1994, he habilitated at the Universität Hamburg. From 1994 to 1999, he was a university lecturer at the Kunsthistorisches Seminar of the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, and from 1999 to 2004, he was a lecturer at the Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar of the Humboldt-Universität in Berlin, where he also acted as managing director from 2000 to 2002. He was appointed as an extracurricular professor in 2004. He also works independently as an author, critic and exhibition-maker.

His teaching and research follow the principles embodied in a neon sculpture by Maurizio Nannucci “All art has been contemporary”. His research has focused on the art of the Renaissance and modern art from 1800 to the present day. He specialises in photography, film and new media, political iconography, art and media theory and scientific history.
From 2001 to 2003, Michael Diers was a board member of the Verband Deutscher Kunsthistoriker, and from 1991 to 2001, he edited the paperback book serieskunststück (monographs and artworks), published by Fischer Taschenbuch Verlag. Between 2005 and 2007, he edited the seriesFundus Bücher, published by Philo Fine Arts, Hamburg. He is co editor of the study edition of the collected works of Aby Warburg (Akademie Verlag, Berlin 1999ff.) and a member of the AICA international critics association and of the International Council of Museums (ICOM). He is also a scientific advisor (Zeitschrift für Kulturphilosophie, Ruhr Museum Essen, etc) and an evaluator (DFG, Fritz Thyssen Stiftung, American Academy).

In early 2011, the Goethe Institut New York selected him as a member of the jury for theMINI / Goethe Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38 program, which nominates young curators to oversee the gallery belonging to the New York Goethe Institut in Manhattan (Lower East Side, address: Ludlow 38) for the year.

Since the winter semester of 2004/05, Michael Diers has held a number of events (lectures, seminars and symposia) entitled spiel/raum:kunst at the Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg.

de en

Dr. Michael Diers

Dr. Michael Diers, Professor i. R. für Kunstgeschichte

Sprechstunde nach Vereinbarung

Michael Diers war von 2004 bis zu seiner Pensionierung 2017 Professor für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte an der HFBK Hamburg. Er hat Kunstgeschichte, Germanistik und Philosophie in Münster und Hamburg studiert und dort 1990 mit einer Arbeit über den Kunst- und Kulturhistoriker Aby Warburg (Warburg aus Briefen) promoviert; 1990–92 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in dem von Martin Warnke geleiteten StudienprojektPolitische Ikonographie am Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut in Essen, 1992–1994 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Kunstgeschichtlichen Seminar der Universität Hamburg. 1994 habilitierte er sich an der Universität Hamburg; 1994–1999 war er Hochschuldozent am Kunsthistorischen Seminar der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und 1999–2004 Dozent am Kunstgeschichtlichen Seminar der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, wo er 2000–2002 auch als Geschäftsführender Direktor amtierte und 2004 zum außerplanmäßigen Pofessor ernannt wurde. Darüber hinaus ist er freiberuflich als Autor, Kritiker und Ausstellungsmacher tätig.

Seine Lehre und Forschung folgen der Devise einer Neonskulptur von Maurizio NannucciAll art has been contemporary. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die Kunst der Renaissance, der Moderne seit 1800 und der Gegenwart sowie speziell die Felder Fotografie, Film und neue Medien, politische Ikonographie, Kunst- und Medientheorie, Wissenschaftsgeschichte.

2001–2003 war Michael Diers Mitglied im Vorstand des Verbandes Deutscher Kunsthistoriker, 1991–2001 hat er die Taschenbuchreihekunststück (Werkmonographien zur Kunst) im Fischer Taschenbuch Verlag, 2005–2007 die ReiheFundus Bücher im Verlag Philo Fine Arts, Hamburg ediert. Er ist Mitherausgeber der Studienausgabe der Gesammelten Schriften Aby Warburgs im Akademie Verlag, Berlin 1999ff. und Mitglied im Internationalen Kritikerverband AICA sowie im International Council of Museums (ICOM) und als wissenschaftlicher Beirat (Zeitschrift für Kulturphilosophie, Ruhr Museum Essen, etc) und Fachgutachter (DFG, Fritz Thyssen Stiftung, American Academy) tätig.

Anfang 2011 wurde er vom Goethe Institut New York in die Jury des ProgrammsMINI / Goethe Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38 gewählt, die jeweils einen jungen Kurator oder eine junge Kuratorin nominiert, welcher oder welche die Galerie des New Yorker Goethe Instituts in Manhattan (Lower East Side, Adresse Ludlow 38) für jeweils ein Jahr betreut.

An der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg hat Michael Diers im Rahmen der Reihespiel / raum: kunst seit WS 2004/05 zahlreiche Veranstaltungen (Vorträge, Seminare und Symposien) durchgeführt.