de en

DAAD prize for exceptional achievement by non-German students

Every year, the “DAAD Prize for Exceptional Achievement by Non-German Students”, a sum of 1,000 euros, is awarded to a non-German student for exceptional achievements and special cultural/political engagement. The prize is awarded by HFBK president Prof. Martin Köttering.

Awardees (since 2003)

2019 Violet Nantume, Uganda
Krystsina Savutsina, Belarus
2017 Vladimir Vulević and Nina Zeljković, Serbia
Denis Kudrjasov, Estonia
2015 Shira Lewis, Israel
2014 Sho Hasegawa, Japan
2013 Nathaniel Clark, USA
2012 Bernhard Hetzenauer, Austria
2011 Claire Macé, France
2010 YoungJin Song, South Korea
2009 Jennifer Bennett, Switzerland
2008 Eriks Apalais, Lettland
2007 Trang Huyen Nguyen, Vietnam
2006 Dario Aguirre Guevara, Ecuador
2005 Meng Yin, China
2004 Adnan Softic, Bosnia and Herzegowina
2003 Kailiang Yang, China



  • non-German BA students having completed 4 semesters or MA students.
  • the completed online application form,
  • a digital portfolio (to be uploaded: one file, max 10 MB), and
  • a recommendation letter written by an HFBK professor.

The AG Internationales will decide whom to award the prize. The Prize will be awarded during the Semester Opening on 9 October 2019.