Art Academy /Administration /University Council

University Council (Hochschulrat)

Members of the »Hochschulrat«

Konstantin Kleffel of the Hamburg architecture bureau Kleffel Papay Warncke has been chairman of the HFBK’s Hochschulrat since 2011. 

Dr. Hans Jochen Waitz, patron of the arts and collector, is deputy to the chairman of the HFBK’s Hochschulrat. Also, he is a member of the university's Society of Friends as well as the board of the Kunstverein Hamburg and numerous foundations supporting recent art. As a law graduate, he campaigned with the architect Jan Störmer for the preservation of the ›Fleet‹ (canal) island along Admiralitätstraße and the Alsterfleet, thereby laying the foundations for the arrival of numerous galleries and studios there.

Heike Catherina Mertens is Managing  Director of the Ernst Schering Foundation in Berlin. 

Dr. Ortrud Westheider is Director of the Museum Barberini in Potsdam. Since the 1990s she has curated major exhibitions of contemporary art and classical modernism. From 2002 to 2016 she was first curator, then director of the Bucerius Kunst Forum in Hamburg.

Eva Hubert has been Managing Director of the Filmfund Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein for nearly 20 years. She was responsible for the good cooperation with the HFBK's Film department, allowing students to produce their final films under favorable conditions.

The Hochschulrat has the following responsibilities: 

  • Deciding on plans for structure and development in accordance with the University Senate
  • Deciding on the basic principles for equipping the University and distributing its resources 
  • Authorising fundamental rules and the statutes for the quality assessment process
  • Authorising budget plans
  • Acknowledgement of the selection and de-selection of the President 
  • Selection and de-selection of the Chancellor 
  • Acceptance of the Executive Committee's annual report
  • Discussion of the annual report
  • Making recommendations on the profile development of the University
  • Making recommendations on where to place emphasis in research and teaching
  • Making recommendations on the further development of the range of studies on offer

Individuals from scientific, cultural, economic and political life who are familiar with the nature of higher education can be appointed as members of the University council. Their posts are honorary, and their time in office is four years in length.